Understanding the ridiculous

schoolI want to be a doctor. My friend wants to be a fashion designer. My other friend wants to own a line of hotels.

At school, I study Maths, Science, Humanities, English, Literature and Health. So do my friends.

These subjects are somehow going to get me into medicine, my friend into fashion designing and my other friend into hotel management. Because somehow, we’re all going to need to use Pythagoras’ theorem and know how the plate tectonics under the Earth move in our respective futures.

Sometimes, this confuses me. Just a little bit.

Call this a rant if you will, but I simply don’t understand why I have to spend thirteen years of my life, studying something that I will most probably never use in the real world. I will never need to use Calculus, unless I want to be a mathematician, in which case, I won’t ever have use for Shakespeare’s Merchant of Venice.

Honestly, I think it’s a complete and utter waste of time. It’s horrible that this system undermines those who are simply not interested in some things. It simply isn’t fair that someone who wants a future in sports has to undergo hours and hours of learning about the ancient Egyptians (who are dead and gone, by the way, so move on). It’s a waste of six whole years.

I mean, I understand the primary school years, where students are given an opportunity to test out the different subjects and get an inkling about what they want for their future, but what about the six years that follow? Am I still testing’ the waters, because I’m pretty sure most of know what we like and we don’t by now.

And if the student doesn’t pass the ‘important’ subjects, the student is held back. Has anyone ever considered that the reason so many people fail is because they are simply not inclined towards these things?

Students should get an opportunity to choose what subjects they want to take by the time they enter middle school, rather than having to wait for Year 11 and 12 to come around. Time that could be used effectively in the act of honing natural talents, skills and interests are wasted on utterly useless information. Tragedy, really.

We all have our individual skills and talents that will no doubt make a difference in the world, and we all learn in different ways. While I might enjoy sitting in a class absorbing ridiculously complicated mathematical theories, I know people who would give anything to be designing things or chasing after a ball instead.

Schools more often than not, destroy lives. They mould young minds into being what the economy requires at that point in time, so they are ready to be shipped into the job market. It’s pathetic.

Rather than building individuals who are leaders in their own fortes, schools are creating sheep. What happened to individuality and personal development? We are all unique snowflakes of our own kind, each of us contributing to establish the world we all dream of. (P.S. I know it’s way dramatic, but that metaphor gives me goosebumps, so don’t judge me).

And yes, I know, there really isn’t anything I can do about it given the fact that I am only 15. And yes, it probably sounds like the complaints of a girl who is enduring the pains of certain completely useless Humanities classes, but it isn’t. It’s something that everyone really needs to think about, I think, and it’s true.

And now, I shall return to my slaving over the wonders of advanced algebraic techniques. Long live Maths.

Nafisa Anvar.

4 thoughts on “Understanding the ridiculous

  1. Shabnam says:

    I had the same doubt when I was your age… till date I haven’t got an answer for my question. If you ever decipher it let me know.

What do YOU think?

